Home · Blog · DUI : DUI Penalties

Southern California DUI Attorney Knows DUI Penalties

DUI penalties vary depending on the number of prior DUI convictions you have and the county you are in.  Typical penalties for DUI include probation[i], jail, fines, a DUI program and an ignition-interlock device (IID)[ii].  The following DUI penalties chart shows the maximum possible criminal DUI penalties in California and the typical criminal penalties for DUI cases in Los Angeles County and the typical criminal penalties for DUIs in Orange County.  The penalties differ slightly between Orange and Los Angeles County.  THIS TABLE ONLY SHOWS TYPICAL RESULTS FOR LOS ANGELES AND ORANGE COUNTIES.  INDIVIDUAL CASES VARY SIGNIFICANTLY.

First Conviction

Maximum L.A County Orange County
Probation 3 years 3 years 3 years
Jail 6 months Varies Varies
Fines $1500 + PA[iii] $390 + PA $390 + PA
DUI program 9 months 3-9 months 3-9 months

Second Conviction

Maximum L.A County Orange County
Probation 5 years 5 years 5 years
Jail 1 year 10-20 days 45-90 days
Fines $1500 + PA $390 + PA $390 + PA
DUI program 30 months 18 or 30 months 18 months

 

Third Conviction

Maximum L.A County Orange County
Probation 5 years 5 years 5 years
Jail 1 year 4 months 6-9 months
Fines $1500 + PA $390 + PA $390 + PA
DUI program 30 months 18 or 30 months 18 months

The penalties shown above can be increased with the presence of other aggravating factors.  There are enhancements that can be added to the complaint that will increase the jail time for a specific case.  Typical DUI enhancements include:

  • Refusing to take a chemical test
  • Having a blood alcohol concentration of .15% or greater
  • Having a blood alcohol concentration of .20% or greater
  • Having a child under the age of 14 in the car at the time of the DUI
  • Having an accident, especially an accident that causes injury or death
  • Being on probation, especially probation for a prior DUI
  •  Speeding more than 20 mph over the limit on surface street or more than 30 mph over the limit of a highway
  • Having a recent DUI prior (for 2nd or 3rd DUI cases)

With offices in Newport Beach, Long Beach, Rancho Cucamonga, Riverside and Murrieta, Fred Thiagarajah has experience in Orange, Los Angeles, San Bernadino and Riverside Counties.  Call today to have a DUI defense lawyer on your side that will minimize your penalties, no matter what the circumstances are.

Fred Thiagarajah – Choose The Right Lawyer.  Get The Right Result. 

Make The Right Choice.

CALL NOW FOR A FREE CONSULTATION

 


[i] Probation for a DUI usually requires that a defendant not drive with any measurable amount of alcohol in their system.  A violation of this rule will result in a one-year license suspension from the DMV with no restrictions.

[ii] IID penalties are not shown on this chart.

[iii] PA refers to Penalty Assessments.  Penalty Assessments will increase a fine by a factor of 4 to 5.  That means that a fine of $390 + PA really means a total of about $1900.

© 2016 FRED THIAGARAJAH - All rights reserved.

Website Designed by OCOnlineMarketing

logo-footer

STAY CONNECTED WITH US: